[Solved] Update of Firefox 59 (i386arch) in US instead of my locale (fr)

Questions about software.
User avatar
ane champenois
Posts: 1538
Joined: 24 Feb 2013 08:17
Location: Grands lacs Forêt d'Orient, France

[Solved] Update of Firefox 59 (i386arch) in US instead of my locale (fr)

Postby ane champenois » 15 Mar 2018 17:38

Hello all,
Since the latest update of Firefox (58->59) it's impossible to have the GUI part translated into french, even after:
- purging the install
- "renewing" firefox (reinstall without any plugins)
I noticed this topic here: https://forums.solydxk.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=7208 where it's mentioned there's a bug into firefox itself, I've added this new topic because it's another locale and the i386 version.
My installation:

Code: Select all

jujosoga@solydxk:~$ apt policy firefox firefox-l10n-fr
firefox:
  Installé : 59.0
  Candidat : 59.0
 Table de version :
 *** 59.0 600
        600 http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/repository.solydxk.com solydxk-9/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
firefox-l10n-fr:
  Installé : 59.0
  Candidat : 59.0
 Table de version :
 *** 59.0 600
        600 http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/repository.solydxk.com solydxk-9/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
I'm waiting for Firefox's answer. ;)
Thanks to Schoelje for posting this bug report. :clap:
They did not know it was impossible so they did it.

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8697
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Update of Firefox 59 (i386arch) in US instead of my locale (fr)

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 15 Mar 2018 18:16



SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
ane champenois
Posts: 1538
Joined: 24 Feb 2013 08:17
Location: Grands lacs Forêt d'Orient, France

Re: Update of Firefox 59 (i386arch) in US instead of my locale (fr)

Postby ane champenois » 16 Mar 2018 07:06

I've used your 'todo' tip on the post https://forums.solydxk.com/viewtopic.php?p=67845#p67845
Here are my notes about it:
* in about:config, there were neither intl.locale.matchOS nor intl.locale.requested when I opened it the first time (of course I've added these items)
*after closing and reopening FF, it was in french (the locale I use for my system and FF; for me the string intl.locale.requested value is fr-FR)
*here is the content of "internationalization &localization"

Code: Select all

Langue et internationalisation
Paramètres d’application
Langues demandées 	["fr-FR","en-US"]
Langues disponibles 	["fr","en-US"]
Langues de l’application 	["fr","en-US"]
Préférences régionales 	["fr-FR"]
Langue par défaut 	"en-US"
Système d’exploitation
Langues du système 	["fr-FR"]
Préférences régionales 	["fr-FR"]
Thanks, this workaround solved the problem.

Edit: topic modified to [solved] :)
They did not know it was impossible so they did it.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests