[solved] firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Questions about software.
User avatar
mil3s
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 13:22

[solved] firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby mil3s » 14 Mar 2018 14:59

Hi,
firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) prompts english gui.
FF from ftp.mozilla.org works in german.
Greets
Miles
Image
SolydX 10 64 - Debian Buster

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 1907
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby ilu » 14 Mar 2018 15:27

sid and experimental have Firefox 59.01 - schoelje will update sooner or later.

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8689
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 14 Mar 2018 16:59

Run this command in the terminal:

Code: Select all

apt sync
It seems that a reference to the previous FF version was still in our repository. That's fixed now.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
mil3s
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 13:22

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby mil3s » 14 Mar 2018 17:34

Done this:

Code: Select all

apt-get remove firefox*
apt sync
apt-get install  firefox firefox-l10n-de firefox-solydxk-adjustments
Same issue like before. Its still english.
Image
SolydX 10 64 - Debian Buster

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 1907
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby ilu » 14 Mar 2018 17:53

mil3s: Just to be sure, do you see the language package installed under about:addons - Languages?

schoelje, where do you get your packages from? From mozilla or from sid/experimental? He says mozilla has the german translation but maybe your source doesn't and he needs to report the bug there? I inspected the package and the dictionary part is german ... I can't inspect the GUI translation part though.

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8689
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 14 Mar 2018 18:22

FF and the language packs are built from Mozilla source. As you said, you need to enable it in the addons page of FF.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
mil3s
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 13:22

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby mil3s » 14 Mar 2018 19:06

Its enabled in about:config.
BTW, no changes since 58.x done.

When I copy files from ftp.mozille.org into /opt/firefox with same settings in about:config all is correct.

Edit:
Its from solydxk.nl:
Holen:1 http://repository.solydxk.nl solydxk-ee/main amd64 firefox amd64 59.0 [58,5 MB]
Holen:2 http://repository.solydxk.nl solydxk-ee/main amd64 firefox-l10n-de all 59.0 [764 kB]
Holen:3 http://repository.solydxk.nl solydxk-ee/main amd64 firefox-solydxk-adjustments all 2018.01.30 [4.331 kB]

I got this, when I check the addons:
This add-on requires a newer version of Firefox (at least version 59.0). You are using Firefox 52.0.
But I use 59.0

Code: Select all

apt policy firefox firefox-l10n-de
firefox:
  Installiert:           59.0
  Installationskandidat: 59.0
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 59.0 600
        600 http://repository.solydxk.com solydxk-ee/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
firefox-l10n-de:
  Installiert:           59.0
  Installationskandidat: 59.0
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 59.0 600
        600 http://repository.solydxk.com solydxk-ee/main amd64 Packages
        600 http://repository.solydxk.com solydxk-ee/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
Image
SolydX 10 64 - Debian Buster

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8689
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 14 Mar 2018 19:24

Code: Select all

arjen@solydxk_main:~$ apt policy firefox firefox-l10n-de
firefox:
  Installed: 59.0
  Candidate: 59.0
  Version table:
 *** 59.0 600
        600 http://repository.solydxk.com solydxk-9/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
firefox-l10n-de:
  Installed: 59.0
  Candidate: 59.0
  Version table:
 *** 59.0 600
        600 http://repository.solydxk.com solydxk-9/main amd64 Packages
        600 http://repository.solydxk.com solydxk-9/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
If you are talking about changing the GUI language: it will adapt to the OS locale when you have the correct language package installed. If you're OS's locale is en_US, for example, and you want to change FF's GUI language to German you need to install the firefox-l10n-de package and change some settings in about:config: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1018686

There is a plugin for that in the ESR version but in the new FF this plugin is not working and there are no alternatives just yet.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
mil3s
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 13:22

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby mil3s » 14 Mar 2018 19:33

Nothing changes to the correct GUI. OS locales is de_DE.UTF-8

I will use the binaries from here:
https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/rel ... x86_64/de/
Here all is working well.

Hope the next release will fix the issues.
Image
SolydX 10 64 - Debian Buster

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 1907
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby ilu » 14 Mar 2018 22:46

schoelje: what plugin are you talking about in ESR? I just had to install the language package and restart FF ESR and got the correct language - which is the same as my system locale. No plugin needed and also nothing in about:config.

mil3s doesn't want a different language from his system locale. The way I understand him he installed the german language pack and still did not get german GUI.
mil3s wrote:I got this, when I check the addons:
This add-on requires a newer version of Firefox (at least version 59.0). You are using Firefox 52.0.
But I use 59.0
What do you mean by "check the addons"? I did not mean addons. I meant the section "Sprachen" under about:addons. Or did they change that in v. 57-59? I only have v. 56.
"Requires a newer version" looks like you are using an addon that changes your browser header (uMatrix f.e.)

User avatar
mil3s
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 13:22

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby mil3s » 15 Mar 2018 07:25

mil3s doesn't want a different language from his system locale. The way I understand him he installed the german language pack and still did not get german GUI.
correct.
What do you mean by "check the addons"? I did not mean addons. I meant the section "Sprachen" under about:addons. Or did they change that in v. 57-59? I only have v. 56.
"Requires a newer version" looks like you are using an addon that changes your browser header (uMatrix f.e.)
In the support link was a suggestion to use addons. But this also did not work.

"Sprachen" Deutsch (DE) Language Pack --> enabled
But it is english.

With binaries from Mozilla from ftp.mozilla.org it works. With apt from solydxk it works not.
Image
SolydX 10 64 - Debian Buster

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8689
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 15 Mar 2018 09:47

mil3s wrote:"Sprachen" Deutsch (DE) Language Pack --> enabled
But it is english.

With binaries from Mozilla from ftp.mozilla.org it works. With apt from solydxk it works not.
This is why I think it's an FF bug.
The binaries from mozilla are installed in your home directory: ~/.mozilla/firefox/user.default/extensions/
The package from our server contains the same file but installs it to be used globally in the FF install directory: /opt/firefox/browser/extensions/
FF still sees the language pack but it's not functional as expected (it always was working this way and still is in the ESR version).
If you copy /opt/firefox/browser/extensions/langpack-de@firefox.mozilla.org.xpi to ~/.mozilla/firefox/user.default/extensions/ the GUI can be set to the German language if you have these settings in your prefs.js file:

Code: Select all

user_pref("intl.locale.matchOS", false);
user_pref("intl.locale.requested", "de-DE");
I have spent this morning to find a solution for this but I wasn't very successful.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
mil3s
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 13:22

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby mil3s » 15 Mar 2018 09:59

This is why I think it's an FF bug.
The binaries from mozilla are installed in your home directory: ~/.mozilla/firefox/user.default/extensions/
The package from our server contains the same file but installs it to be used globally in the FF install directory: /opt/firefox/browser/extensions/
FF still sees the language pack but it's not functional as expected (it always was working this way and still is in the ESR version).
If you copy /opt/firefox/browser/extensions/langpac ... la.org.xpi to ~/.mozilla/firefox/user.default/extensions/ the GUI can be set to the German language if you have these settings in your prefs.js
Ok I understand. But so I have to copy and change for every user on the system. For the moment the best workaround is to use mozilla's binaries and hope that will be fixed with the next upgrade.

There should be no issue when using mozilla's binaries?
I have spent this morning to find a solution for this but I wasn't very successful.
Thank you for your time!
Image
SolydX 10 64 - Debian Buster

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8689
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 15 Mar 2018 10:19

No, there won't be any issues with Mozilla's language packs. These are installed in the user's directory and have precedence over globally installed extensions.

I've reported the bug here: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1445897


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8689
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 15 Mar 2018 17:59

Could you check if all settings are correct when you remove the user's language pack from mozilla and only use the firefox-l10n-de package?

After installation I had to manually enable the German language pack in about:addons.

In about:config I had to either add or change this value
intl.locale.matchOS must be set to false
After which I had to add this one:
Right-Click and add a new string: intl.locale.requested with value de-DE
Screenshot_20180315_091336.png
Close and restart FF. It should be in German. If not perhaps try to reboot and check again.

Check at the bottom of about:support: "Internationalization & Localization".
Copy the output in your post if it's different than mine:

Code: Select all

Internationalisierung & Lokalisierung
Anwendungseinstellungen
Angeforderte Sprachen: ["de-DE","en-US"]
Verfügbare Sprachen: ["de","en-US"]
Anwendungssprachen: ["de","en-US"]
Region-Einstellungen: ["de","en-US"]
Standardsprache: "en-US"
Betriebssystem
Sprachen des Betriebssystems: ["en-US"]
Region-Einstellungen: ["en-US"]
You can follow the discussion here:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1445897


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
mil3s
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 13:22

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby mil3s » 16 Mar 2018 07:47

Good Morning,

after both creating:

Code: Select all

intl.locale.matchOS --> false
intl.locale.requested --> de-DE
and restart of FF all was working fine.

And I had to do it for every user, its not systemwide.

Support Output:

Code: Select all

Internationalisierung & Lokalisierung
Anwendungseinstellungen
Angeforderte Sprachen 	["de-DE","en-US"]
Verfügbare Sprachen 	["de","en-US"]
Anwendungssprachen 	["de","en-US"]
Region-Einstellungen 	["de","en-US"]
Standardsprache 	"en-US"
Betriebssystem
Sprachen des Betriebssystems 	["de-DE"]
Region-Einstellungen 	["en-US-u-va-posix"]
Its not clear to me, why the binaries from ftp.mozilla.org and apt makes there a difference?
Thank you.
Image
SolydX 10 64 - Debian Buster

eikko
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 Oct 2014 08:54

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby eikko » 16 Mar 2018 07:51

Same Problem on three different Systems here!

but i have no "intl.locale"
Intl.locale.png
Intl.locale.png (5.44 KiB) Viewed 584 times
my Internationalization & Localization looks so
Internationalisation.png
Internationalisation.png (19.64 KiB) Viewed 584 times
and the -Firefox-Icons of all Menues and Links are blank


eikko

User avatar
mil3s
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 13:22

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby mil3s » 16 Mar 2018 07:56

eikko wrote: but i have no "intl.locale"
I also had no, it was to create manually for every user.

Is this a workaround or the final solution?
Image
SolydX 10 64 - Debian Buster

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8689
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 16 Mar 2018 09:08

It's not a workaround. It's what Mozilla provides.
Updating from ESR to FF 59 goes automatically, though.

Configuration is done in the user's .mozilla directory. Hence, it is not system wide.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
mil3s
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Aug 2014 13:22

Re: [solved] firefox-l10n-de:amd64 (59.0) is english

Postby mil3s » 16 Mar 2018 09:13

Ok, thank you.
In the past it was more comfortable ;) System wide is much better.
I mark as solved.
Image
SolydX 10 64 - Debian Buster


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest