[SOLVED] Problem with my Back Office Server

Questions specific to SolydK Back Office
User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

[SOLVED] Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 29 Jan 2014 21:03

I have one of the original installs. Don't think that matters with this problem.
I just went to login to the server from the console and I put in my password which is correct by the way.
It takes me to the Desktop and just before I go to click on the start button it returns me back to the login screen.

I can Putty into it just fine.

The apps show up when I launch them in the browser from another computer. So the server is working I just can't get into it from its own desktop.

Thanks
Dan

Let me know what infor you need or what you want me to try.


User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8635
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 30 Jan 2014 12:06

Perhaps something wrong with X.

If you can SSH, you can apt-get dist-upgrade?

Were you running Nvidia, or ATI drivers?


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 30 Jan 2014 12:15

Code: Select all

administrator@backoffice ~ $ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
[sudo] password for administrator:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.


User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8635
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 30 Jan 2014 12:47

Were you running Nvidia, or ATI drivers?


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 30 Jan 2014 12:53

Sorry I didn't see that part of your question before:

Not sure on the drivers.
Does this info help:

Code: Select all

administrator@backoffice ~ $ inxi -Gxx
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Rage XL bus-ID: 02:0c.0 chip-I        D: 1002:474f
           X.org: 1.14.5 drivers: ati,mach64 (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) tty size: 80        x24 Advanced Data: N/A out of X
a


User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8635
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 30 Jan 2014 12:58

Well, I can see you have an ATI card, but that doesn't necessarily mean you have the fglrx drivers installed.

You can try this command to let your system decide which driver to use:

Code: Select all

mv /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.bak
Try to login again.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 30 Jan 2014 22:24

backoffice ~ # mv /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.bak
mv: cannot stat ‘/etc/X11/xorg.conf’: No such file or directory


User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8635
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 31 Jan 2014 06:29

Then we'll need to analyze your logs.
Please, attach /var/log/syslog after you tried to login. We'll need to find out if errors were written.
Perhaps ~/.xsession-errors (from the user account you were trying to login) has also some valuable information.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 31 Jan 2014 15:42

I am not a big CLI person and since I can only ssh in with putty how do I get these files from the server to here?


User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8635
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 31 Jan 2014 16:17

I never used Putty (hardcore SSH man), but a quick Google search resulted in many hits.
This is one: http://smallbusiness.chron.com/files-us ... 26735.html

However, with scp I'd run:

Code: Select all

scp my_login@my_domain:/var/log/syslog ./my-syslog
scp my_login@my_domain:/home/my_user/.xsession-errors ./my-xsession-errors
Obviously, you need to replace my_login, my_user, and my_domain.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 31 Jan 2014 17:06

After you showed me that I remembered I used that in the past.
Had to do it convoluted way but here it is
Attachments
syslog.txt
(3.81 KiB) Downloaded 67 times
xsession-errors.txt
(15.23 KiB) Downloaded 69 times


User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 10 Feb 2014 17:34

Ok I started messing with this myself and have probably made the situation worse.
I thought I would start removing and reinstall kde packages.
Now I can't get kde reinstalled.
I even tried to install xfce4 and that didn't work either.
Here is my latest try using smxi:

Code: Select all

 The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 kde-plasma-desktop : Depends: kde-runtime (>= 4:4.8.4) but it is not going to be installed
                      Depends: plasma-desktop (>= 4:4.8.4) but it is not going to be installed
                      Depends: kde-workspace (>= 4:4.8.4) but it is not going to be installed
                      Depends: kde-baseapps (>= 4:4.8.4) but it is not going to be installed
 kdm : Depends: kde-runtime but it is not going to be installed
 konqueror : Depends: kde-runtime but it is not going to be installed
             Depends: kde-baseapps-bin (= 4:4.8.4-2) but it is not going to be installed
 konversation : Depends: kdebase-runtime but it is not going to be installed
                Depends: kdepim-runtime but it is not going to be installed
 okular : Depends: kde-runtime but it is not going to be installed
 polkit-kde-1 : Depends: kdebase-runtime but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
  
The server is working fine just not the GUI.


User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8635
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 10 Feb 2014 18:28

I'm sorry, I totally forgot about your topic.

I can't remember: you are running the first version of BO (based on Debian testing), aren't you?
Check that your sources.list looks exactly like this:

Code: Select all

deb http://packages.solydxk.com/production/ solydxk main upstream import kdenext
deb http://debian.solydxk.com/production testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.solydxk.com/production/multimedia testing main non-free
deb http://debian.solydxk.com/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://community.solydxk.com/production/ solydxk main
If you have one of the latest (based on Debian stable):

Code: Select all

deb http://packages.solydxk.com/business/ solydxk main upstream import
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian wheezy main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main contrib non-free
Then:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install kde-plasma-desktop


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 10 Feb 2014 22:31

I'm sorry, I totally forgot about your topic.

I can't remember: you are running the first version of BO (based on Debian testing), aren't you?
Check that your sources.list looks exactly like this:
No problem on forgetting. You have a lot going on. I am just one small problem.

I am running the original version.
Somehow I was confused from an earlier post and had the wrong setting in my sources.list
I have corrected that and got the KDE Desktop back.

However my original problem still exists. I login and then it shows the wallpaper and the task bar and before I can click on anything it goes back to the login screen.

Did my logs show anything of any value?
I'm going home now and will try the next step you come up with tomorrow.


User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8635
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 11 Feb 2014 06:46

Today is my daughter's 4th birthday. So, I won't have time to look at it, but when I glance at the xsession error file, I see IO errors. That makes me wonder whether your HD has corrupted sectors or not. Maybe you could Google for that message.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 11 Feb 2014 11:51

Happy Birthday to your Daughter. Enjoy the Day. 4th birthdays happen only once.
I'll update this post tomorrow with what I find out.
Thanks


User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 12 Feb 2014 15:21

I checked the drive for bad blocks and it didn't find any.
We haven't done anything on this server yet. We are just testing right now so I could re install the whole server.
What I did also was try to install some other DE to see if they would work.
The only one I could kind of get to work was Fluxbox. I could launch a terminal with it.
Any package that used a GUI would just send me back to the login screen.
I don't how much time you want to invest in this strange problem.
Let me know if you want to start over.
Thanks
Dan


User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8635
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 12 Feb 2014 15:36

I'm sorry, but I'm really out of ideas :oops:


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1486
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby MAYBL8 » 12 Feb 2014 16:12

No problem
I am going to download the latest BO version and start over from there.
Thanks for trying to help.
I have no idea what happened.


User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8635
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Problem with my Back Office Server

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 12 Feb 2014 18:41

Good luck!
Let me know how it goes.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations


Return to “SolydK Back Office”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest